You are here

Brunei dollar currency | Brunei Bank Notes

Brunei Dollar

Brunei dollar Currency:

Brunei dollar is the official currency of the Sulatanate of Brunei. It is denoted the symbol  B$.  Brunei dollar is divided into 100 Sen. Autoriti Monetari Brunei Darussalam central bank issued the Brunei dollar. In 1967, the Brunei dollar replaced the Malaya and British Borneo dollar, after the formation of Malaysia and the independence of Singapore.  The Brunei dollar is interchangeable with the Singapore dollar at par in 1967. The Malaysian ringgit was exchangeable at par with the Singapore dollar and Brunei dollar until 23 June 1973.

Coins were introduced in 1967 in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents. The government introduced on 12 June 1967 in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 50 and 100 dollars. 500 and 1000 dollars notes were introduced in 1979. 10,000 dollar notes were introduced in 1989. Polymer banknotes were introduced in 2004. The polymer series was reintroduced in 2011 with $1 blue, $5 green, and $10 red banknotes.

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour 

Famous Thailand Beaches

Atlantis Submarine Sea Tour

Heal Through Pure Ayurveda

Hong Kong Tourist Attractions 

China Top 10 Best Tour Attractions

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Best Of Kashmir Tourism

Singapore Tour Attractions

Brunei Dollar

Brunei Dollar (Brunei):

Code: BND

Symbol: B$




$1, $5, $10, $20, $25, $50, $100, $500, $1000, $10,000


1, 5, 10, 20, 50 cents

Central bank:

Autoriti Monetari Brunei Darussalam




Most traded currencies:

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 7 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.