You are here

Cook Islands Dollar currency | Cook Islands Bank Notes

Cook Islands Dollar

Cook Islands Dollar Currency:

The official currency of the Cook Islands is dollar. The code of the Cook Islands dollar is represented by CKD for distinguishing it from other global currencies with the same name as dollar. Its symbol is $. As it is a decimalized currency, it is subdivided into hundred equal parts known as cents or also sometimes called tene. The 100th part of the dollar is denoted by the expression c.

The Cook Islands is a self-governing country consisting of fifteen islands located in the South Pacific ocean (between French Polynesia and American Samoa), in free association with New Zealand. In spite of the fact that Cook Islanders are officially reckoned as the citizens of New Zealand, they retain the status of the Cook Island nationals, most of whom are found in New Zealand itself. The New Zealand pound had been the currency in Cook Islands till it was replaced by New Zealand dollar in 1967. Coins were minted in 1972 exclusively for the use of Cook Islands and the banknotes have begun to be printed in 1987. Since the Cook Islands dollar is pegged on par with the New Zealand dollar, both the currencies are easily interchangeable and exist in circulation simultaneously in the Cook Islands.

The banknotes of the Cook Island dollar in circulation are of the denominations $3, $10, $20 and $50. The coins in usage in the islands are of the denominations 10, 20, 50 cents and $1, $2 and $5.

Cook Islands Dollar

Cook Islands Dollar (Cook Islands):

Code: CKD

Symbol: $

Subunit:  1/100= cent / tene


 $3, $10, $20, $50


10, 20, 50 cents, $1, $2, $5


Cook Islands (New Zealand) (alongside New Zealand dollar)

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
10 + 8 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.