You are here

Croatian Kuna currency | Croatia Bank Notes | Croatia Coins

Croatian Kuna

Croatian kuna Currency:

Croatian kuna is the official currency of Republic of Croatia and it is subdivided into 100 lipa. Croatian National Bank issued the kuna notes and coins are minted by Croatian Monetary Institute.On May 30, 1994 the modern Kuna was introduced. The meaning of kuna is "marten"since it is based on the use of marten pelts as units of value in medieval trading. From the start kuna was pegged to the German mark but with replacement of mark by the euro, the kuna's peg effectively switched to the euro.

Coins were introduced in 1994 in the denominations of   1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 lipa, 1, 2, 5 and 25 kuna. As the coins of 1, 2 lipa are rarely used because of their low value, these coins are no longer minted since 2009.  On 31 October 1993, the first series of bank notes was issued in the denominations of 5, 10, 20,January 50, 100, 200,500, 1000 kn. On 1 April 2007, the 5, 10 and 20 kuna notes from this series were withdrawn and on 1 2010, the 50, 100 and 200 kuna notes were withdrawn. With similar designs but enhanced security features new series of bank were released in 2001,2004, 2012 and 2014.At present, the frequently used bank notes are 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500 kn and 5, 1000 kn are rarely used.

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Angkor Wat Wat Temple

Sydney Opera House

Egypt Tour Attractions

Leaning Tower of Pisa

Piazza Del Colosseo

Miracle Garden Dubai

Big Ben London

Philippines Best Tour Attractive Places

Croatian Kuna

Croatian Kuna (Croatia):

Code:  HRK

Symbol: kn




5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 kn


1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 lipa, 1, 2, 5, 25 kn

Central bank:

Croatian National Bank

Most traded currencies:

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
7 + 2 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.