You are here

Danish krone currency | Denmark Bank Notes

Danish Krone

Danish krone Currency:

The official currency of Denmark, Greenland and the Faroe Islands is Krone. The Krone currency was introduced on 1 January 1875. The official code of currency is DKK and symbol is Kr.  One Krone is subdivided into 100 ore. The other name of the Danish Krone is the Danish Crown. The Danish rigsdaler was replaced by a new krone in 1873. Till the First World War, the krone was an integral part of the Monetary Union.The Union was abandoned and the gold standard era ended in 1914. Denmark joined the gold standard again in 1924, but abandoned it in 1931. The krone was joined to the German reichsmark from 1940 to 1945. Krone was equal to 1 British pound, after 1945. The krone became part of the Brentwood system in 1949 and decreased in value to 6.91 krone = 1 USD.

Current circulating coins are 50- øre, 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 kroner. Since 1945 banknotes have been issued with the values of 5 kroner, 10 kroner, 50 kroner, 100 kroner, 200 kroner, 500 kroner and 1000 kroner.

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Angkor Wat Wat Temple

Sydney Opera House

Egypt Tour Attractions

Leaning Tower of Pisa

Piazza Del Colosseo

Miracle Garden Dubai

Big Ben London

Philippines Best Tour Attractive Places

Danish Krone

Danish Krone (Denmark):

Code:  DKK

Symbol: kr.




50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 kroner

Coins  :

50- øre, 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 kroner

Central bank:

Denmark National bank

Most traded currencies:

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
13 + 2 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.